State Officials

Tom Miller

State Attorney General of Iowa
Attorney General Tom Miller is serving in his ninth four-year term as Attorney General of Iowa. He was born in Dubuque on August 11, 1944, the son of the late Elmer and Betty Miller. Tom Miller grew up in Dubuque, where his father was the longtime county assessor and an inspiration for Tom's early interest in public service.

Mr. Miller has earned a reputation for integrity, high quality legal work, and strong work on behalf of ordinary Iowans. Attorney General Miller is well known for his work to prevent crime and assist crime victims, to protect consumers, and to be an advocate for farmers.

Michael L. Fitzgerald

State Treasurer of Iowa
Michael L. Fitzgerald was born in Marshalltown, Iowa. His family farmed outside of State Center and later Colo, where he graduated from high school. He attended the University of Iowa and received his Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration. Prior to being elected state treasurer in 1982, Michael worked as a marketing analyst for Massey Ferguson Company in Des Moines for eight years.

Treasurer Fitzgerald has become a leader in public service during his tenure as state treasurer. He has served as president of several national organizations. He serves as trustee and custodian of Iowa's three state pension funds. In addition, he invests over three billion dollars of state operating funds. He has returned over $218 million in lost property through the Great Iowa Treasure Hunt. Treasurer Fitzgerald is the administrator of Iowa’s 529 College Savings Programs including College Savings Iowa, with over $4.2 billion invested.

State Legislators

Rob Hogg

Iowa Senate Democratic Leader, State Senator
Rob Hogg is currently serving his third term as state senator for Senate District 33 in Cedar Rapids after two terms as a state representative in the Iowa House. First elected in 2002, he was re-elected to the Iowa House in 2004, ran successfully for the Iowa Senate in 2006, and was re-elected to the Iowa Senate in 2010 and 2014. In 2016, he ran for the United States Senate, finishing second in a four-way race in the Democratic primary to the nominee, former Lt. Gov. Patty Judge, with 37,680 votes, or 38.9%. In November 2016, he was unanimously elected Senate Democratic Leader in the Iowa Senate.

In the Iowa Legislature, Rob has served on the education, judiciary, public safety, natural resources, energy, environmental protection, appropriations, and ways and means committees. In 2009 and 2010, he served as chair of the Senate Rebuild Iowa Committee after the devastating floods and tornadoes of 2008. In 2013 and 2014, he served as chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee, and in 2015 and 2016, he served as chair of the Senate Government Oversight Committee.

Mark Smith

Iowa House Democratic Leader, State Representative
Mark Smith is serving his 8th term in the Iowa House. Before being elected House Democratic Leader, he served as an Assistant Democratic Leader and on the Administration and Rules, Environmental Protection, Ethics, Human Resources, Judiciary and Legislative Council committees. Mark has spent his entire career helping people. He has worked with troubled children and their families, treated substance abuse, directed services to the mentally ill, and made sure nursing homes provide quality care for the elderly. Mark was among the first to provide early mental health counseling to children through the schools. He was the Director of Special Projects at the Substance Abuse Treatment Unit of Central Iowa (SATUCI).

Mark Smith was born in Osceola, Iowa on January 5, 1952, the son of R. Eugene and Betty Danner Smith. His family lived on a farm near Osceola until moving to Winterset, where Mark graduated from high school in 1970 and received a college scholarship.

County Officials

Steve Duffy

County Supervisor

Phil Meier

County Auditor

Dan Kolacia

County Attorney

Darcy Bosch

County Treasurer

Veronica Rardin-Nystrom

County Recorder

Gregg Elsberry

County Sheriff